The York Art Association is run by a Board of Directors that are elected at the annual meeting in September. The fiscal and corporate year is October 1st to September 30th. The Board is made up of Officers and Directors. All offices are for 2 years. Additional committees are formed to assist in the running of the Association. Committees are added as required. Each function run by the Association has a Director that is responsible for running that function. The Board of Directors is involved in some capacity in all functions.

Board meetings are held the second Wednesday of every month from 5:00 00 - 7:00 PM. The meetings are open to all members.


Board of Directors ~ 2015-2016


President - Annette Bfrennan

  • The President shall preside at all meetings of the Association and Board of Directors and shall perform such duties as regularly pertain to the office. The President shall be ex-officio, a member of all Committees. The President shall appoint a Chairperson for each Committee.

  • The President shall appoint an Auditor annually, with Board approval. The President shall also appoint an Agent for State Tax Exempt filing and shall designate the responsibility for all Association properties and of property control.

Vice-President - Fritz Steele

  •  The Vice President shall perform all the duties of the President in the absence or incapacity of the latter, as well as duties as delegated by the President.  The Vice-President is also an ex-officio member of all Committees and will be the primary person responsible for all association operations.

 Secretary - Jill Burke

  • The Secretary shall keep minutes of all of the meetings of the Association and of the Board of Directors and perform such duties as regularly pertain to the office. The Secretary shall provide a copy of all minutes of the meetings to be tiled in the Corporate Records Book.

Treasurer - Diane Johnson

  • The Treasurer shall be the custodian of the funds and shall pay them out only on bills approved by the Board of Directors except ordinary operating expenses. The Treasurer shall keep a balanced account of all receipts and expenditures and shall present a written monthly financial statement to the Board of Directors as of the last day of the month ending prior to the meeting. An Annual Financial Report shall be mailed to all members within sixty (60) days of the end of the fiscal year.  This report will be signed by the Treasurer and the Auditor. Copies of all monthly and annual financial reports shall be filed in the Corporate Records Book. The Treasurer shall exhibit at all reasonable times, the financial records of the Association to any Board Member.

  •  Assistant to the President - Ken Gilbride                                                                                            This is a new role created in  September, 2015 and held by the outgoing President to build continuity and  a sense of the past accomplishments and to offer a foundation for going forward.  This is one year role. 



 Legal - Open

  •  Advise the board on any legal matters pertaining to the association and any trusts the association may have an interest in.

Building/Grounds - Open

  •  Advise the board on any building and grounds issues.  Develop and maintain a plan for regular mainenace and future renovations and/or building upgrades.

 Gift Shop - Annette Brennan

  •  Responsible for all issues related to the operation of the Gift Shop.

 Membership - Sue Wierzba

  • Responsible for tracking membership applications and renewals and developing programs to attract, engage, and retain members. 

Newsletter  -  Jane McDonnell

  •  Responsible for newsletter design and other marketing communications 

Education and Workshops - Lisa Roberts

  • Responsible for educational programming to attract a wide range of the community from the fine arts to the crafts and events. 

Community Relations - Michelle Surdoval

  •  Responsible for developing and maintaining relationships and programs with other public and community entities. Builds goodwill and acts as an ambassador.

Shows/Exhibits - Virginia Calvo

  • Responsible for the show/exhibit calendar, show chairs will report to this position.

Fund Raising - Alyssa Wright

  • Responsible for bringing in new gifts to support programs and/or initiatives within the York Art Association as well as generate sponsorship packages for local businesses to get involved in our work.

Scholarships - Lou Hargan
  • Responsible for soliciting applications and chairing the review committee for the annual High School and Letitia Moore Scholarships.

Marketing  - Taryn Myers

  • Responsible for the overall branding and marketing of the York Art Association.

Outside Exhibits -  Maryse Newton

  • Responsible for establishing and maintaining exhibit oppportunities outside of the YAA gallery in local organizations and establishments.

Volunteers - Open

  • The help of many volunteers is required to support the board of directors in all aspects of York Art Association's operations. Please contact any board member by clicking on their title in the above list to discuss how you can find the right volunteer opportunity for you. Click here to learn more about our volunteer areas of opportunity.

Youth Outreach - Open

  • Youth Outreach, which will include responsibilities around developing programs to attract and engage children and teens, as well as building relationships with local schools.

© 2013 York Art Association

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software